What is Vedic Astrology

by | Oct 17, 2020 | Astrology, Vedic Astrology

Vedic astrology, as the name suggests, is the science of astrology based on the Vedic scriptures. The word Veda means knowledge. This knowledge is revealed directly to the receiver from the Supreme Lord Himself, who is known as the Supreme source of all knowledge and then handed down in disciplic succession. The main book is Surya Siddhanta, and the other is Drigganita. Surya Siddhanta is the science of the movement of Vedic planets, which were revealed by the Sun-God. The Sun god himself got this knowledge from the Supreme Lord Sri Krishna or Sriman Narayana. He is also called Surya Narayana because the Sun god is close to the Supreme Personality of Godhead Sri Krishna.

Further glorification of the Sun God

In the yoga sutras, we also find that meditation on the sun reveals the universe. Of all the mantras, the Gayatri Mantra is the greatest, explaining the relationship between the sun god and the Supreme Lord. By meditation on the sun, one can overcome all sins. Hence, the sun is considered the source of energy, light, knowledge of Vedic Astrology. The other book used for the calculation of astrological positions is the Drigganita.

Understanding the movements of planets

There are two ways of understanding the planets’ movement, one is to calculate them with the Surya Siddhanta formulas or the Drigganita, and the other is by observation. We can observe the phases of the moon, the full moon, and the new moon. The Vedic calendar is based on the movement of the moon as well as the sun.

Vedic Horoscope: A map

Vedic horoscope is a map of the planets in the sky when we are born. If we look up at the sky when we are born, look at the planetary positions and mark them on the circle with the required correction (Our vision gives a refracted image of the planets). The correction applied is called Ayanamsa, which provides us with the proper position of the planets.

What does Vedic Astrology reveal?

The circle of the sky, which is 360 degrees, is divided into twelve houses of thirty degrees each. Now one of these houses is marked as Lagna or the first house. This house is the one that is rising on the eastern horizon. Once the Lagna or the first house is drawn, then we mark the other houses in order.

Here is a brief understanding of the houses:

  • Lagna or the first house is called Tanu Bhava. Physique, Complexion, Longevity, Fame, Status, Appearance, and Wealth should are assessed from the Rising Sign, the Lagna.
  • The second house is called Dhana Bhava or the home of finance. This house also explains how financially affluent we are.
  • The third house is known as Bhratru bhava or the home of our siblings.
  • The fourth house deals with our house and nearest and dearest ones, including our home and mother. Hence this house is called Bandhu bhava, meaning the place of the nearest ones.
  • The fifth house is called Putra bhava or the home of children and intelligence. This house is also called Purva Punya sthana, meaning the result of good karma of the previous lives can be found here.
  • The sixth house is called Shatru bhava, meaning the place of enemies. The sixth house deals with disease, debts, and enemies.
  • The Seventh house is called Yuvati Bhava or the home of the spouse. This also indicates people will mainly work within our lives.
  • The eighth house is called the Ayur bhava or that house, which indicates lifespan. This house is also called Gupta sthana, meaning the knowledge of the occult.
  • The ninth house is called Dharma bhava, as it indicates the religious inclination guru. Guru is also considered a father, so this house also describes the father, and this house is also called pitru bhava, meaning the place of father and ancestors.
  • The tenth house is called Karma sthana or the home of our profession. This house indicates the possible careers we can have and our ability or degree to excel in that profession.
  • The eleventh house is called Labha Bhava or the house that indicates profits in our life. This shows, for example, our movable property.
  • The twelfth house is called Vyaya Sthana or that which indicates our losses. This house also shows moksha or spiritual emancipation.

Interpretation of the horoscope in Vedic astrology

We need to understand the placement of planets in the houses according to the time and place we begin the interpretation. This is a complex calculation as several factors decide the outcome. The houses, their lords, the time or dasha the person is undergoing, and his activities all contribute to form the result he is experiencing right now. Today’s computer software can cast the horoscope; however, only an expert astrologer taking into account all the circumstances and all situations with guidance from the divine can give the proper interpretation of a horoscope.